top of page

Karen Holmgaard is here to stay with Everton.

Karen Holmgaard has committed her near future to Everton by agreeing a new

deal with the club.


The Denmark international joined the club back in August 2022 alongside her twin,

Sara.


Since her arrival to Brian Sorensen’s team, she has proved to be a vital player to the

squad over the past two seasons.


The 25-year-old has the capability to perform greatly in both a centre-half role as well

as in the midfield. Thus, her versatility in and around the back line for the Blues is not

only valuable but also key to the defence of their squad.


Throughout the 2023/24 season, Holmgaard unfortunately encountered two setbacks

with injury. Despite this, in the 13 league appearances she made, she was

instrumental to the team.


Although she typically plays a defensive role, she bagged two goals last season away to Brighton and Hove Albion and West Ham United.


With this contract, this is set to be the Danish talent’s third season as a Toffee.


She believes her best football at the club is yet to come.


“It was an easy decision to extend my time here, I love being an Everton player.


“The Club, teammates, staff, city, fans – it’s all fantastic.


“I need to show who I am, show the real Karen and I cannot wait to do it."


In late May of this year, Holmgaard underwent a hip surgery which she is currently in

recovery from. With this, she hopes to minimise her time on the sidelines in future

seasons. Whilst she is in a period of rehab, she is keen to back on the pitch playing

the sport she loves.


“I can’t wait to be back playing. Last season was really tough with injury, and I wasn’t

able to play as much”, she told Everton.


“I’m recovering really well, my rehab is going as planned,


“Sara has helped me a lot in my rehab, we supported each other a lot last season

when we were injured.


“There have been a lot of ups and downs so far but it’s going well and I’m excited to

get started again with the girls.


Blues manager, Brian Sorensen, believes that the defensive midfielder will be key

for future success with the Toffees.


“It’s great Karen is continuing as an Everton player.


“Physically she can dominate and she’s a presence on the pitch at both ends of the

field, especially at set pieces.


“There is another level we can take her game to and I’m looking forward to seeing

her reach that potential.”

0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page