top of page

Fran Kirby announces departure from Chelsea.

Fran Kirby has announced in an emotional video on Instagram that she will be parting ways with Chelsea at the end of the season.

Fran Kirby smiling on a podium, whilst holding the Vitality FA Cup.

The England forward joined Chelsea in 2015, after leaving Reading, and has since won 14 trophies in blue, and is leaving Chelsea a history-maker.


She became Chelsea’s all-time goal scorer, with 115 goals in 205 appearances, establishing herself as one of the greatest players of her generation.


With 6 WSL league titles, 5 FA Cups and 2 league cups under her belt, Kirby has been an integral part of Chelsea’s remarkable success.

During the 2022/23 season, Kirby netted nine goals in 16 appearances, but injury complications meant she was unable to play in the remainder of the season.


In 2020, Kirby revealed she came close to an early retirement after being diagnosed with Pericarditis – inflammation of the fluid-filled sac around the heart. 


The support I've had has been unmatched. When I had my illness, my injuries, that's when I've made some friends for life. I will never forget that no matter how bad I felt during those moments, I always felt loved and supported," said Kirby.


In addition to her trophy-laden career with the blues, the 30-year-old has acquired a numerous amount of personal accolades.


Kirkby was named PFA Women’s Player of the Year in both 2018 and 2021, as well as winning the Football Writers’ Association first Women’s Footballer of the Year award.


In a statement given to Chelsea FC, Kirby expressed her gratitude to the club and players.

“To leave with the trophies that I have won, with the teammates I've played with -- some of the world's best players -- it has been one of the biggest privileges of my life."


“I hope I have left the club and the shirt in a place where you all can be proud of me.”


Kirby will play her final game in donning the Chelsea shirt against Manchester United on Saturday 18 May at the Leigh Sports Village.

0 comments

Komentáře

Hodnoceno 0 z 5 hvězdiček.
Zatím žádné hodnocení

Přidejte hodnocení
bottom of page